News & Updates

Florida Ports Council Presents Seaport Champion Award to Representative Chip LaMarca

TALLAHASSEE, Fla (September 8, 2022) – Representative Chip LaMarca has been awarded the Florida Ports Council’s 2022 Seaport Champion Award for his leadership and commitment to Florida’s seaports.

(Left to Right) Jonathan Daniels, Florida Ports Council Chair and Port Everglades Port Director, Rep. Chip LaMarca, Michael Rubin, President and CEO, Florida Ports Council.

Strong investments in Florida’s 15 seaports have well-positioned Florida to answer supply chain demands and take advantage of a realignment in global trade routes. Rep. LaMarca (R-Lighthouse Point) has been a constant and consistent supporter of the jobs and economic development that seaports provide the state of Florida.

“Thanks to leaders like Rep. LaMarca, Florida’s seaports are seizing the opportunity to secure an even larger share of international trade and related commercial activities,” said Michael Rubin, President and CEO, Florida Ports Council.

Rep. LaMarca was awarded the Seaport Champion Award last week during the Florida Ports Council’s Board of Directors luncheon.

# # #


The Florida Ports Council (FPC), is a Florida nonprofit corporation that serves as the professional association for Florida’s fifteen public seaports and their management. FPC is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of the 15 port directors with staff support located in Tallahassee. We provide leadership through a collective voice in the areas of state and federal advocacy, data and research, and marketing and communication.