News & Updates

FSTED Council elects new officers

The Florida Seaport Transportation and Economic Development (FSTED) Council elected Captain John W. Murray, Chief Executive Officer of Canaveral Port Authority, as chair in a virtual meeting last week. Capt. Murray replaces Amy Miller, director of the Port of Pensacola, who served as chair for the past two years.

Other officers elected include Paul Anderson, Port Tampa Bay President and CEO, as Vice-Chair; and Juan Kuryla, Port Director and CEO of PortMiami, as Secretary-Treasurer.

The FSTED Council is comprised of the port directors for Florida’s 15 public seaports, and representatives from the Florida Department of Transportation and the Department of Economic Opportunity. The FSTED Program (Chapter 311, Florida Statutes), a state and local financing program of priority seaport transportation projects, is staffed and administered by the Florida Ports Council.

“Florida’s seaports are diverse and powerful drivers of economic prosperity in our state.  As gateways of commerce, now more than ever, sustaining our ability to meet today’s business challenges is vital to our competitive future,” stated Capt. Murray.  “I thank my colleagues for this opportunity, and I’m looking forward to working together with Council members on FSTED initiatives this year.”

A 40-year maritime industry veteran, Capt. Murray currently manages Port Canaveral, a world-class gateway for cruises, cargo, recreation and logistics, as well as a gateway to new frontiers, including space.

“First, we want to thank Amy Miller for two years of incredible leadership as our FSTED Chair. She has remained dedicated to keeping Florida seaports competitive in the global marketplace through strategic FSTED investments,” said Doug Wheeler, president and CEO of the Florida Ports Council. “Now we look forward to working with another impressive slate of officers, leaning on Capt. Murray’s leadership to propel FSTED’s mission to enhance economic vitality in the state of Florida.”

The officers’ appointments will take effect October 1st.