News & Updates

Satcher Elected Manatee County Port Authority Chair

Manatee County Commissioner James Satcher has been elected chairman of the Manatee County Port Authority.

James Satcher

Satcher, who had been the port board’s first vice chairman, was unanimously elected chairman Tuesday, Sept. 12, during a special meeting of the Manatee County Port Authority held during the regularly scheduled meeting of the Manatee County Board of County Commissioners.

In related moves, Manatee County Commissioner Jason Bearden has been elevated to first vice chairman from second vice chairman; Manatee County Commissioner Mike Rahn has risen to second vice chairman from third vice chairman; and Manatee County Commissioner Amanda Ballard has been unanimously elected third vice chairwoman.

“I am looking forward to leading the Manatee County Port Authority board and working with the seaport staff to further advance the role of SeaPort Manatee as a primary economic engine for our great county,” Satcher said.

The Manatee County Port Authority board consists of the seven members of the elected Manatee County Commission, but with distinctively separate officers and financial accountability. The authority sets policy and oversees major expenditures for SeaPort Manatee.

Members of the port authority board serve staggered four-year terms, with annual election of officers.